Important towns of Kumaon are Haldwani, Nainital, Almora, Pithoragarh, Rudrapur, Kashipur, Pantnagar, Mukteshwar and Ranikhet. Nainital is the administrative centre of Kumaon Division and this is where the Uttarakhand high court is located.

History of Kumaun

The word ‘Kumaon’ is derived from ‘Kurmanchal’. Kurmanchal means, the land of Kurma (kurma-anchal), the tortoise incarnation of Lord Vishnu.The paintings discovered at the rock shelter at Lake Udyar points towards the existence of Mesolithic period (middle stone age) settlements in the region.It is believed that the “Kols” were the original inhabitants of Kumaon. They were the people with astro-Asiatic physical type. After loosing the battle with Dravids, some of the Kols sections relocated and settled at Kumaon. Later on they were joined by Indo-Aryan Khas / Khasas tribes.From 500 BCE – 600 ACE, Kunindas (refered to as Kulinda in ancient literature) ruled the entire Northern India including the Kumaon region.  The documented history of Kunindas is from 2nd century BCE and are mentioned in the Indian epics, Puranas and Mahabharata.The Kumaon region was ruled by Katyuri Kings from around 7th century ACE to 11th Century ACE.