Seven Sisters

Assam :: Arunachal Pradesh :: Tripura :: Mizoram :: Manipur :: Nagaland :: Meghalaya


About Nagaland The state of Nagaland lies in the extreme Northeastern part of India. It is bordered on its west and north by Assam, on its east by Myanmar (formerly known as Burma), on its north by Arunachal Pradesh, and on its south by Manipur. Nagaland is one of India's smallest states, with a total area of 16,579 sq km (6400 sq mi). The Naga Hills run through this small state, which has Saramati as its highest peak at a height of about 12,600 ft. The main rivers that flow through Nagaland are Dhansiri, Doyang, Dikhu and Jhanji. History of Nagaland The Naga people had a systematic self government system since centuries. It was however brought under the British administration during their rule. After India got Independence, these tribal areas were brought under the control of Governor of Assam. Later, On December 1, 1963, Nagaland was given the status of a State of India Union. Festival of Nagaland Moatsu Festival of the Ao Tribe: Moatsu festival is celebrated during the first week of May every year. Various rites and rituals are performed during this period. The festival is observed after the sowing is done. Hornbill Festival: Named after the Indian Hornbill (the large and colorful forest bird which is displayed in folklore), Hornbill Festival is organized by the State Tourism and Art & Culture Departments. Culture of Nagaland The people of Nagaland are generally known as Naga's and they constitute several groups of tribals occupying the North Eastern part of India and north-western Burma. These conglomerations of tribes mostly have identical culture and traditions and form the majority ethnic group in the Indian states of Nagaland, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Assam.


A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

Read More